Harvest Ewer, H. Protât for the Minton factory

The ewer of the grape harvests has a decor in the fashion of her time, evoking its function through the decorative repertoire that constitutes it. Thus the content of this ewer can only be wine. Indeed, the belly of the ewer is made up of a barrel giving birth to the handle that joins the neck by dividing into two branches.

On the neck, four putti illustrate the theme of a wine party. One putto picks the grapes, the other holds his tambourine to animate the party, a third waits for the elixir to be poured out, scrutinizing the vase neck with great attention. The last puts his cup on the head, obviously already a bit drunk.

The colors chosen are those that are usually found on this piece. Everything is treated with naturalism. We recognize the quality of Minton’s color palette and its typical blue-green appearing inside the piece.

An identical piece is in the Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa).

The Minton manufacture was founded in 1793 by Thomas Minton (1788-1836). The production focuses then on the realization of earthenware with blue and white printed decoration.

Thomas Minton joins his sons in the company: Herbert and Thomas in 1817. It is Herbert who is given sole responsibility for the direction of the manufacture on the death of his father in 1836. Under his control, the manufactory knows an unprecedented boom . His nephew, Colin Minton Campbell took over the torch in 1858.

The manufacture is then at its peak, it includes 1500 employees. The artistic director of the Manufacture, Léon Arnoux is French and he brought to England many potters who worked in French factories.

Hugues Protât (1835 – 1871)

Many French artists work for Minton, attracted by the personality of Léon Arnoux. Among the many French collaborators of Minton, Hugues Protât occupies an important role. He is named in 1855 chief modeler of the manufacture in the wake of Carrier-Belleuse. He became a modeling teacher at the Stoke-on-Trent Pottery School. Some of his works in Minton bear his signature and monogram in exceptional cases. The pieces he made show his attachment to the naturalism that reigns over the arts of fire during the second half of the nineteenth century.

Dimensions

Longueur : 64 cm
Largeur : 44 cm

Prix

Aiguière des Vendanges, Protât pour la manufacture de Minton

L’aiguière des vendanges présente un décor à la mode du temps, évoquant sa fonction à travers le répertoire décoratif qui la constitue. Ainsi le contenu de cette aiguière ne peut-il être que du vin. En effet, la panse de l’aiguière est constituée d’un tonneau parcouru de ceps de vigne donnant naissant à l’anse qui vient rejoindre le col en se divisant en deux branches.
Sur le col, quatre putti illustrent le thème d’une fête enivrée. Un putti cueille le raisin, l’autre rythme la récolte de son tambourin ou anime la fête, un troisième attend que soit versé l’élixir, scrutant le bec avec beaucoup d’attention. Le dernier pose sa coupe sur la tête, visiblement déjà gris.

Les couleurs choisies sont celles que l’on retrouve habituellement sur cette pièce. Tout est traité avec naturalisme. On reconnaît la qualité de la palette chromatique de Minton et son bleu-vert typique figurant à l’intérieur de la pièce.

Une pièce identique figure au Museum of New Zealand (Te Papa Tongarewa).

La manufacture Minton est fondée en 1793 par Thomas Minton (1788-1836). La production se concentre alors sur la réalisation de faïences au décor imprimé bleu et blanc.

Thomas Minton intègre ses fils dans l’entreprise : Herbert et Thomas en 1817. C’est Herbert qui se voit confier seul la direction de la manufacture à la mort de son père en 1836. Sous son contrôle, la manufacture connaît un essor sans précédant. Son neveu, Colin Minton Campbell reprend le flambeau en 1858.

La manufacture est alors à son apogée, elle comprend 1500 employés. Le directeur artistique de la manufacture, Léon Arnoux est français et il fait venir en Angleterre de nombreux faïenciers qui ont travaillé dans les manufactures françaises.

Hugues Protât (1835 – 1871)

De nombreux artistes français travaillent pour Minton, attirés par la personnalité de Léon Arnoux. Parmi les nombreux collaborateurs français de Minton, Hugues Protât occupe un rôle important. Il est nommé en 1855 chef modeleur de la manufacture à la suite de Carrier-Belleuse. Il devient professeur de modelage à l’école de poterie de Stoke-on-Trent. Certaines de ses œuvres réalisées à Minton portent sa signature et son monogramme de manière tout à fait exceptionnelle. Les pièces qu’il réalise montrent son attachement au naturalisme qui règne sur les arts du feu durant la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle.

Dimensions

Longueur : 64 cm
Largeur : 44 cm

Prix