Bamboo and marquetry sideboard – Perret & Vibert, circa 1880

This service from the famous French bamboo manufacture Perret et Vibert rests on four legs. Composed of two trays, they are connected by uprights made of several pieces of bamboo forming a triangle and semicircle pattern. Both tops are geometrically decorated with wood marquetry. Thus, several pieces of wood in different shades are assembled creating a geometric pattern and adding dynamism to the composition. The bamboo, giving an Asian style to this sideboard, testifies to the artists’ attraction to Middle Eastern inspiration.

Founded by Ernest Vibert and Robert Perret, the Maison des Bambous opened in 1872 at 33, rue du Quatre Septembre. The company offers from its beginnings a variety of objects in the Chinese taste as well as many pieces of furniture, chairs, tables, made of bamboos and braided rush. On the strength of its success, the company turned towards the Asian antiques trade at the beginning of the 1890s, notably under the impetus of Ernest’s son, Gaston Vibert.

But the company is mainly known for its creations in rattan, which can be adapted to winter gardens in the city, as well as to country houses or seaside villas.

The company is present at numerous exhibitions and regularly wins awards for these “graceful and original” models, of which “there’s only so many to choose from”. The House of Bamboo was awarded a prize at the Moscow International Exhibition in 1891, and won a gold medal at the Paris Horticultural Competition in 1893. It was present at the colonial exhibition in Lyon in 1894 where “a very rich collection of inlaid bamboos” was presented.

Dimensions

Height: 78 cm
Width: 86 cm
Depth: 46 cm

Prix

Desserte en bambou et marqueterie – Perret & Vibert, vers 1880

Cette desserte de la célèbre manufacture française Perret et Vibert en bambou repose sur quatre pieds. Composée de deux plateaux, ceux-ci sont reliés par des montants composés de plusieurs pièces de bambous formant un motif de triangle et de demi-cercle. Les deux plateaux reçoivent un décor géométrique de marqueterie de bois. Ainsi, plusieurs pièces de bois aux teintes différentes sont assemblées créant un motif géométrique et insufflant du dynamisme à la composition. Le bambou, donnant un style asiatique à cette desserte, témoigne de l’attrait des artistes pour l’inspiration moyenne orientale.

Fondée par Ernest Vibert et Robert Perret, la maison des Bambous ouvre en 1872 au 33, rue du Quatre Septembre. La société propose dès ses débuts une variété d’objets dans le goût chinois ainsi que de nombreux meubles, chaises, tables, réalisés en bambous et en jonc tressé. Forte de son succès, la société s’oriente au début des années 1890, notamment sous l’impulsion du fils d’Ernest, Gaston Vibert, vers le négoce d’antiquités d’Asie.

Mais l’entreprise se fait essentiellement remarquer et connaître par ses créations en rotins, qui s’adapte autant aux jardins d’hiver en ville, qu’à la maison de campagne ou à la villa balnéaire.

L’entreprise est présente à de nombreuses expositions et remporte régulièrement des récompenses pour ces modèles « gracieux et inédits » dont « il n’y a que l’embarras du choix ». La maison des Bambous obtient une récompense à l’exposition internationale de Moscou en 1891, remporte une médaille d’or au concours d’horticulture de la ville de Paris en 1893. Elle est présente à l’exposition coloniale de Lyon en 1894 où est présentée « une très riche collection en bambous incrustés ».

Dimensions

Hauteur : 78 cm
Largeur : 86 cm
Profondeur : 46 cm

Prix