Pair of blue columns – Massier, France, circa 1880

Very nice pair of blue ceramic columns made by the Massier workshops around 1880. The luminous color as well as the delicate shapes of these pieces denote the excellence of the Massier’s know-how.

The Massier family has been established in Vallauris since the 18th century with Pierre Massier (1707-1748) recognized as a master potter. It was not until the following century that an art ceramics appeared that favored aesthetics over utilitarian aspects.

Delphin and his brother Clément (1844-1917) and then their cousin Jean-Baptiste dit Jérôme fils (1850-1916) are at the origin of this development. The Massiers owe this new orientation to the systematic use of plaster molds – which allow the diffusion of models – and to the use of glazed earthenware which allows a varied palette of colors. Delphin and Clément worked in the same workshop at their beginnings and presented their joint creations at the 1883 Universal Exhibition in Amsterdam before each following his own path. Jérôme started to create a factory in Vallauris just like the other members of the family.

Delphin opens several points of sale in the region: in Nice, Cannes and Menton. His brother Clément and his cousin Jérôme spread their models as far as Paris or Berlin. The Massiers met with great success thanks to this commercial dynamism and took part in the major exhibitions of their time, such as the 1889 Universal Exhibition or the 19th century Salons.
With the development of the railways and the attraction of the bourgeoisie for the French Riviera, the Massier family enjoyed an influx of visitors. Queen Victoria, Emile Zola, George Sand or Victor Hugo made expensive purchases which contributed to the fame of the factories.
The production of the Massier is very varied both in shapes and in the choice of colors and techniques used. Fascinated by history, they are inspired by the different eras of the past without neglecting a naturalist approach. Thanks to incessant research, they develop the technique of metallic luster inspired by the Hispano-Moorish ceramics of the Renaissance.

Dimensions

Height : 103 cm
Planter diameter : 40 cm

Prix

Paire de complets bleus – Massier, France, vers 1880

Très belle paire de complets bleus en céramique réalisée par les ateliers Massier vers 1880. La couleur lumineuse ainsi que les formes délicates de ces pièces dénotent de l’excellence du savoir-faire des Massier.

La famille Massier est implantée à Vallauris depuis le XVIIIe siècle avec Pierre Massier (1707-1748) reconnu comme maître potier. Il faut attendre le siècle suivant pour assister à l’apparition d’une céramique d’art qui privilégie l’esthétique à l’aspect utilitaire.

Delphin et son frère Clément (1844-1917) puis leur cousin Jean-Baptiste dit Jérôme fils (1850-1916) sont à l’origine de ce développement. Les Massier doivent leur cette nouvelle orientation à l’utilisation systématique de moules en plâtre -qui permettent la diffusion des modèles- et à l’emploi de la faïence émaillée qui autorise une palette de couleurs variée. Delphin et Clément travaillent dans le même atelier à leurs débuts et présentent leurs réalisations communes à l’Exposition Universelle de 1883 à Amsterdam avant de suivre chacun leur propre voie. Jérôme se lance dans la création d’une manufacture à Vallauris tout comme les autres membres de la famille.

Delphin ouvre plusieurs points de vente dans la région : à Nice, à Cannes et à Menton. Son frère Clément et son cousin Jérôme, diffusent leurs modèles jusqu’à Paris ou Berlin. Les Massier rencontrent un succès important grâce à ce dynamisme commercial et participent aux grandes expositions de leurs temps à l’image de l’Exposition Universelle de 1889 ou des Salons du XIXe siècle.
Avec le développement des chemins de fer et l’attrait de la bourgeoisie pour la côte d’Azur, les Massier profitent d’un afflux de visiteurs. La reine Victoria, Emile Zola, George Sand ou bien Victor Hugo font de coûteux achats qui contribuent à la renommée des manufactures.
La production des Massier est très variée tant dans les formes que dans le choix des couleurs et des techniques employées. Férus d’histoire, ils s’inspirent des différentes époques du passé sans négliger pour autant une approche naturaliste. Grâce à d’incessantes recherches, ils mettent au point la technique du lustre métallique inspirée des céramiques hispano-mauresques de la Renaissance.

Dimensions

Hauteur : 103 cm
Diamètre cache-pot : 40 cm

Prix