Pair of putti supporting conches – Thomas Victor Sergent

Important pair of putti in foot supporting cups taking the shape of conches by Thomas Victor Sergent. The putti, hip in an elegant posture, support the conches with their hands. Naked, a light sheet provides them with a veil of modesty.

They each stand on a mound of rocks, earth and leaves, which is not only reminiscent of 16th century ceramics, but also reminiscent of the rocky mounds of the 18th century.

The green, royal blue, mustard yellow and brown shades highlighted recall the chromatic palette also used by J. Landais. It is found in stripes on the conches, and in flat tints on the scales of the turtle shells on the back of the putti.

Thomas Victor Sergeant cites the Renaissance in this pair of objects. By his gesture, he participates in the historicism which develops in France under the reign of Louis-Philippe and which lasts until the beginning of the 20th century in the form of eclecticism. The Exhibition of Art and Industry Products of 1839 and 1844 in Paris saw the triumph of the neo-Renaissance style with the works of Froment-Meurice and Grohé, but also of Chenavard with his famous “Renaissance Vase” (Musée des Arts Décoratifs, dated 1831). From then on, many craftsmen and manufacturers integrated the Renaissance style into their creations, as Sarreguemines did here.

Many of these ornamental displays are treated realistically in form and colour palette, which is made possible by the latest technical developments. This realism is one of the markers of the ceramic arts of the period.

Dimensions

Height: 39 cm
Width: 28 cm

Prix

Paire de putti soutenant des conques – Thomas Victor Sergent

Importante paire de putti en pied soutenant des coupes prenant la forme de conques par Thomas Victor Sergent. Les putti, hanchés dans une posture élégante, soutiennent les conques de leurs mains. Nus, un léger drap leur apporte un voile de pudeur.

Ils se tiennent chacun sur un tertre de rocs, de terre et de feuilles, qui n’est pas sans rappeler à la fois la céramique du XVIe siècle, mais rappelle également les tertres rocailles du XVIIIe siècle.

Les teintes vertes, bleu de roi, jaune moutarde et marron misent en exergue rappellent la palette chromatique également utilisée par J. Landais. On la retrouve en bandes sur les conques, et en aplats sur les écailles des carapaces de tortues posées sur le dos des putti.

Thomas Victor Sergent cite la Renaissance dans cette paire d’objets. Par son geste, il participe à l’historicisme qui se développe en France sous le règne de Louis-Philippe et qui perdure jusqu’au début du XXe siècle sous la forme de l’éclectisme. Les Expositions des Produits de l’Art et de l’Industrie de 1839 puis de 1844 à Paris voient triompher le style néo-Renaissance avec les travaux de Froment-Meurice et de Grohé, mais encore de Chenavard avec son fameux « Vase de la Renaissance » (Musée des Arts Décoratifs, daté 1831). Dès lors nombre d’artisans et de manufactures intègrent la style Renaissance dans leurs créations, comme le fit ici Sarreguemines.

Bien de leur temps, ces présentoirs ornementaux sont traités avec réalisme dans leur forme et dans la palette chromatique, ce qui est rendu possible par les derniers développements techniques. Ce réalisme est l’un des marqueurs des arts céramiques de la période.

Dimensions

Hauteur : 39 cm
Largeur : 28 cm

Prix