Fouettard father and mother – J. Lomain, 1881

These two statuettes are made of bronze and rest on a pink marble base.

The first one represents the bogeyman. The man is covered with a large hat, has bells on his belt, wears pointed shoes and carries a large hood full of crying and screaming children. The five children in the hood have facial features marked by sadness and terror.

The second represents the companion of the bogeyman. The threatening figure provokes the same fear in the children accumulated in his hood. The bogeymother does not sulk about her pleasure in taking away the children who have not been good, conducting her business in the manner of her husband.

This iconography is typical of Eastern Europe and is part of the St. Nicholas’ Day folklore.

The circular base of the bronze is engraved with an “F”. Lomain”, a probable indication of the sculptor’s name.

Father fouettard was born in the 16th century in Metz. He is the faithful (evil) counterpart of Saint Nicolas, the terror of children who are not wise. A perfect gift to remind your dear offspring of the need to behave!

Dimensions

Height: 33 cm
Width: 13.5 cm
Depth: 13.5 cm

Prix

Père et mère Fouettard – J. Lomain, 1881

Ces deux statuettes en bronze et reposent sur un socle de marbre rose.

La première représente le père fouettard. L’homme est en effet couvert d’un grand chapeau, a des grelots à la ceinture, est chaussé de souliers pointus et porte une grande hotte remplie d’enfants pleurant et hurlant. Les cinq enfants dans la hotte ont les traits du visage marqués par la tristesse et la terreur.

La seconde représente la compagne du père fouettard. La figure menaçante provoque la même peur chez les enfants accumulés dans sa hotte. La mère fouettarde ne boude pas son plaisir d’emmener les enfants qui n’ont pas été sages, menant son affaire à la manière de son mari.

Cette iconographie est typique de l’Europe de l’est et s’inscrit dans le folklore de la Saint-Nicolas.

La base circulaire du bronze est gravée d’un « F. Lomain », indication probable du nom du sculpteur.

Le père fouettard est né au XVIe siècle à Metz. Il est le fidèle pendant (maléfique) de saint Nicolas, la terreur des enfants qui ne sont pas sages. Un cadeau parfait pour rappeler à votre chère progéniture la nécessité de bien se tenir !

Dimensions

Hauteur : 33 cm
Largeur : 13.5 cm
Profondeur : 13.5 cm

Prix