Rattan Table, Perret & Vibert, France, end of 19th century 

Sumptuous rattan table with rope decoration. The very well worked top of the table has coloured edging forming a geometric braiding. The precious nature of the work and the originality of its colours make it a remarkable work of the second half of the 19th century.

The taste for exoticism during the Second Empire explains the enthusiasm for rattan furniture. It is visible with the massive import of raw materials from Asia to produce furniture that is light and decorative. It was in this favorable context that the great Parisian houses, including the Perret-Vibert house, developed. The latter opened its doors in 1872 in Paris under the name “La maison des bambous”. The radiance of the house is dazzling and it will be rewarded several times at the World Fair. 

The rattan furniture is perfectly suited for refined interiors, verandas or other winter gardens. This new space, generally located in front of the house, extends the living room and the dining room. Nature settles in the interiors and harmonizes with the refined interior decoration. 

Dimensions

Height: 72 cm
Length: 116 cm

Price

Table en Rotin à Décor de Cordages, Perret & Vibert, France, vers 1880 

Table en rotin somptueuse à décor de cordages. Le plateau, très travaillé, comporte des liserés colorés formant un tressage géométrique. La préciosité de la réalisation et l’originalité des couleurs en font un ouvrage remarquable de la seconde moitié du XIXème siècle.

L’exotisme cher au Second Empire explique l’engouement pour le mobilier en rotin. Il prend son essor avec l’importation massive des matières premières en provenance de l’Asie pour réaliser des meubles au goût du jour toujours plus légers et décoratifs. C’est dans ce contexte favorable que se développent les grandes maisons parisiennes dont la maison Perret-Vibert. Cette dernière ouvre ses portes en 1872 à Paris sous l’appellation « La maison des bambous ».  Le rayonnement de la maison est fulgurant et elle sera plusieurs fois récompensée aux Expositions Universelles.

Le mobilier en rotin s’adapte parfaitement aux intérieurs raffinés ainsi qu’aux vérandas ou autres jardins d’hiver.  Ce nouvel espace, situé généralement en avancée de la maison, prolonge le salon et la salle à manger. C’est un lieu de réception imprégné d’une atmosphère oisive et luxuriante. La nature s’installe dans les intérieurs et s’accorde avec la décoration intérieure raffinée.

Dimensions

Hauteur: 72 cm
Longueur: 116 cm

Prix