Red antique vase – Clément Massier, circa 1890

This antique red vase in its form was made by Clément Massier at the end of the 19th century. A frieze representing a medallion bordered by two putti in the middle of interlacing, encircles the perimeter of the vase. Two handles originating in vine leaves frame this piece. The red jasper color of this vase is typical of Clement Massier’s production.
The Massier family has been established in Vallauris since the 18th century with Pierre Massier (1707-1748) recognized as a master potter. From the 19th century onwards, a high quality ceramics of art appeared which favoured aesthetics over utilitarian aspects. Delphin (1836-1907) and his brother Clément (1844-1917) and their cousin Jean-Baptiste dit Jérôme fils (1850-1916) are at the origin of this development.
From 1886 onwards, Clément Massier developed an important and high quality lustrous ceramic. He knew how to surround himself with brilliant collaborators. The painter Lucien Lévy-Dhurmer (1865-1953) worked with Clément Massier from 1887 to 1895 and oriented production towards an Art Nouveau repertoire. A collector of Hispano-Moorish ceramics, he researched metallic reflections and managed to considerably broaden the colour palette. From the turn of the century, Clément devoted himself almost exclusively to metallic lustre, while Jérôme and Delphin remained faithful to slurry and polychrome enamels for an illusionist and figurative rendering. He knew how to give his letters of nobility to a traditional technique and was at the origin of a true industrial and artistic revolution which gave a new and decisive impulse to the manufacture of ceramics in Vallauris. He brought in his wake other ceramic artists from Cannes, Vallauris, Marseille, Fréjus etc.

Dimensions

Height: 83 cm
Width: 53 cm

Prix

Vase antiquisant rouge, Clément Massier, vers 1890

Ce vase rouge antiquisant dans sa forme fut réalisé par Clément Massier, à la fin du XIXème siècle. Une frise représentant un médaillon bordé par deux putti au milieu d’entrelacs, ceint le pourtour du vase. Deux anses prenant naissance dans des feuilles de vigne encadrent cette pièce. La couleur rouge jaspée de ce vase est typique de la production de Clément Massier.
La famille Massier est implantée à Vallauris depuis le XVIIIème siècle avec Pierre Massier (1707-1748) reconnu comme maître potier. Au partir du XIXème siècle, apparaît une céramique d’art d’une grande qualité qui privilégie l’esthétique à l’aspect utilitaire. Delphin (1836-1907) et son frère Clément (1844-1917) puis leur cousin Jean-Baptiste dit Jérôme fils (1850-1916) sont à l’origine de ce développement.
Clément Massier développe à partir de 1886 une céramique lustrée importante et de qualité. Il sut s’entourer de collaborateurs brillants. Le peintre Lucien Lévy-Dhurmer (1865-1953) travailla de concert avec Clément Massier de 1887 à 1895 et orienta la production vers un répertoire Art Nouveau. Collectionneur de céramiques hispano-mauresques, il fait des recherches sur les reflets métalliques et parvint à élargir considérablement la palette de couleurs. Clément se consacre quasiment exclusivement au lustre métallique à partir du tournant du siècle tandis que Jérôme et Delphin restent fidèles aux barbotines et émaux polychromes pour un rendu illusionniste et figuratif. Il sut donner ses lettres de noblesses à une technique traditionnelle et il est à l’origine d’une véritable révolution industrielle et artistique qui a donné une impulsion nouvelle et décisive à la fabrication de la céramique à Vallauris. Il entraina dans son sillage d’autres artistes céramistes de Cannes, Vallauris, Marseille, Fréjus etc.

Dimensions

Hauteur : 83 cm
Largeur : 53 cm

Prix