Napoleon III pink velvet lounge – France, end of the XIXth century

This wooden and pink velvet lounge is composed of two armchairs and a sofa. The blackened wood of the structure is decorated with partially gilded paintings reminiscent of Japanese and Chinese lacquers. They depict scenes of Japanese life populated with characters. The lines of the furniture are enhanced with gold, giving the ensemble a refined decor.

In the second half of the 19th century, the bourgeoisie was fond of luxurious objects. The opulent styles of the Ancien Régime were brought up to date and assembled to form original, eclectic and highly decorative works. In this context, blackened wood is a privileged material in this taste for deep blacks so particular to the Second Empire. These dark woods harmonize perfectly with the precious inlaid materials and the richly coloured fabrics that warm the interiors.

This lounge, mounted on casters, is both comfortable and refined. The Napoleon III style gives great importance to decoration and ornamentation, as evidenced by the floral paintings decorating the uprights of this furniture or the fringes finishing off the armrests. Indeed, one can imagine a set of this magnitude in a Parisian salon typical of the Second Republic. This period, which sounds pomp and opulence in interiors, is sometimes referred to as the “triumph of the upholsterers”. The rich fabrics and fabrics related to the bourgeois apartments in an ever-increasing search for comfort. Numerous paintings bear witness to these sumptuous interiors, whose reputation spread throughout Europe. The Salon of Princess Mathilde, cousin of Napoleon III, is one of the jewels of the Empire. Abundantly represented, it allows one to imagine for a moment the fabulous interiors that were certainly the scene of this charming ensemble presented by the Galerie Vauclair.

Dimensions

Sofa:
Height: 122 cm
Width: 158 cm
Armchairs:
Height: 112 cm
Width: 64 cm

Prix

Salon en velours rose Napoléon III – France, fin du XIXème siècle

Ce salon en bois et velours rose est composé de deux fauteuils et d’un canapé. Le bois noirci constituant la structure de l’ensemble est orné de peintures partiellement dorées évoquant les laques japonais et chinois. Elles figurent des scènes de vie japonaise peuplées de personnages. Les lignes des meubles sont réhaussées d’or, conférant à l’ensemble un décor raffiné.

En cette deuxième moitié du 19e siècle, la bourgeoisie est férue d’objets luxueux. Les styles opulents de l’Ancien Régime sont remis au goût du jour et assemblés pour former des œuvres originales, éclectiques et très décoratives. Dans ce contexte, le bois noirci est un matériau privilégié dans ce goût pour les noirs profonds si particuliers au Second Empire. Ces bois sombres s’harmonisent parfaitement avec les matières précieuses incrustées et les riches étoffes colorées qui réchauffent les intérieurs.

Ce salon, monté sur roulettes, est à la fois confortable et raffiné. Le style Napoléon III accorde beaucoup d’importance au décor et à l’ornement, comme en atteste les peintures florales ornant les montants de ces meubles ou encore les franges terminant les accoudoirs. En effet, on imagine tout à fait un ensemble de cette ampleur dans un salon parisien caractéristique de la Seconde République. Cette époque, qui sonne le faste et l’opulence dans les intérieurs, est parfois désignée comme celle du « triomphe des tapissiers ». Les riches étoffes et tissus parent des appartements bourgeois dans une recherche toujours grandissante de confort. De nombreux tableaux témoignent de ces intérieurs somptueux dont la réputation fit le tour de l’Europe. Le Salon de la Princesse Mathilde, cousine de Napoléon III, figure parmi les fleurons de l’Empire. Abondamment représenté, il permet l’espace d’un instant de s’imaginer ces intérieurs fabuleux qui furent assurément le théâtre de ce charmant ensemble présenté par la Galerie Vauclair.

Dimensions

Canapé :
Hauteur : 122 cm
Largeur : 158 cm
Fauteuils :
Hauteur : 112 cm
Largeur : 64 cm

Prix