Bamboo and lacquered glass shelf – Perret & Vibert, circa 1880

This glass shelf from the famous French manufacturer Perret et Vibert in bamboo rests on four legs. Composed of three levels, they are topped by a lacquered tray. The bamboo, giving an Asian style to this sideboard, testifies to the attraction of the artists for the Asian inspiration.

Founded by Ernest Vibert and Robert Perret, the Maison des Bambous opened in 1872 at 33, rue du Quatre Septembre. From the beginning, the company offered a variety of Chinese-style objects as well as numerous pieces of furniture, chairs and tables made of bamboo and woven rush. Building on its success, in the early 1890s the company turned to the trade of Asian antiques, notably under the impetus of Ernest’s son, Gaston Vibert.

But the company is best known for its rattan creations, which are just as suitable for city conservatories as they are for country homes and seaside villas.

The company is present in many exhibitions and regularly wins prizes for its “graceful and original” models of which “there is only the embarrassment of choice”. La Maison des Bambous won a prize at the Moscow International Exhibition in 1891, and was awarded a gold medal at the Paris Horticultural Competition in 1893. It was present at the colonial exhibition of Lyon in 1894 where “a very rich collection of inlaid bamboos” was presented.

Dimensions

Height : 145 cm
Width : 81 cm
Depth : 37 cm

Prix

Etagère vitrée en bambou et laque – Perret & Vibert, circa 1880

Cette étagère vitrée du célèbre fabricant français Perret et Vibert en bambou repose sur quatre pieds. Composés de trois niveaux, ils sont surmontés d’un plateau laqué. Le bambou, donnant un style asiatique à ce buffet, témoigne de l’attrait des artistes pour l’inspiration asiatique.

Fondée par Ernest Vibert et Robert Perret, la Maison des Bambous ouvre en 1872 au 33, rue du Quatre Septembre. Dès le début, l’entreprise propose une variété d’objets de style chinois ainsi que de nombreux meubles, chaises et tables en bambou et en jonc tressé. Forte de son succès, l’entreprise se tourne au début des années 1890 vers le commerce des antiquités asiatiques, notamment sous l’impulsion du fils d’Ernest, Gaston Vibert.

Mais l’entreprise est surtout connue pour ses créations en rotin, qui conviennent aussi bien aux jardins d’hiver en ville qu’aux maisons de campagne et aux villas de bord de mer.

L’entreprise est présente dans de nombreuses expositions et remporte régulièrement des prix pour ses modèles “gracieux et originaux” dont “il n’y a que l’embarras du choix”. La Maison des Bambous remporte un prix à l’exposition internationale de Moscou en 1891, obtient une médaille d’or au concours horticole de la ville de Paris en 1893. Elle est présente à l’exposition coloniale de Lyon en 1894 où est présentée “une très riche collection de bambous incrustés”.

Dimensions

Hauteur : 145 cm
Largeur : 81 cm
Profondeur : 37 cm

Prix